top of page


Early Years Foundation Stage


The EYFS is statutory guidance that all preschools, nurseries, child-minders and reception classes must follow. This is a legal requirement.


The EYFS is based around 4 themes, which provide a framework for all our activities:

  • A unique child

  • Positive relationships

  • Enabling environments

  • Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates.


Underneath the umbrella of these themes, there are 7 areas of learning.


The 3 PRIME AREAS are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional

  • Language

  • Physical development.


Then there are 4 more areas that build on the 3 prime areas:

  • Literacy

  • Maths

  • Understanding of the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design.


Research shows that children gain the most through free play based experiences. We offer continuous provision, which means that we have the same or similar toys and equipment out at every session and enhance this with activities based on the children’s interests. This includes adult led, small group and whole group activities.


The EYFS is not about making children sit down to read and write. Children learn in many different ways and need to experience a variety of activities to develop good skills ready for school and later life.


If you would like more information on the EYFS, please see the full report here: 

Early years (under 5s) foundation stage framework (EYFS) - GOV.UKfeel

Alternatively feel free to ask a member of staff. We also have a more in-depth leaflet if you would like one.


bottom of page